FORTY8 | Freestyle MX Online Magazine | Event Coverage
Event Coverage [Event Archive]

Local Hero Dany Torres wins
Red Bull X-Fighters Madrid

Dany Torres wins the final against Nate Adams in front of 23,000 fans at the fourth stop of the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2009 in Madrid on Friday night. . Robbie Maddison placed 3rd followed by Jeremy Stenberg in 4th position in the Plaza de Toros de Las Ventas bullfighting arena as the X-Fighters touched down in the Spanish capital for the tenth time. Unfortunately Cam Sinclair crashed hard doing a Double Flip attempt.

Adam Jones

MADRID (ESP). It was 100% action right from the start for the famously fanatical Madrid fans – equipped as always with chainsaw motors and tens of thousands of traditional white handkerchiefs – as Charles Pagès (FRA) used the opening jump of the night to try to become the first ever rider to land a frontflip on a motocross bike. Despite having his 100 kg bike under control for the whole rotation, the Frenchman was unlucky two come up slightly short on both his attempts.

Robbie Maddison

Local FMX matador Torres threw down a spectacular run in his Semi Final to convince the judges and leave his opponent, America’s Jeremy Stenberg, with no chance as he advanced to the Final. There, the 22-year-old from Seville came up against the winner of the previous X-Fighters event in Texas, Nate Adams (USA), who had himself eliminated Tower Bridge conqueror Robbie Maddison in their Semi
Final. Cameron Sinclair crashed hard in the quarter finals and was brought to hospital.

Mat Rebeaud

Following the first European stop of the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2009, Nate Adams (USA) has taken over the lead in the overall standings with 225 points, ten ahead of the previous leader Eigo Sato (JPA), who could only manage ninth place in Madrid. The Japanese rider is closely followed by Mat Rebeaud (SUI) and Robbie Maddison (AUS), equal on 210 points.

Jeremy Stenberg

The final stop of the international FMX tour takes place at London’s Battersea Power Station on 22 August 2009.


Final Results Freestyle
1. Dani Torres
2. Nate Adams
3. Robbie Maddison
4. Twitch Stenberg
5. Cam Sinclair
6. Mat Rebeaud
7. Adam Jones
8. Andre Villa
9. Eigo Sato
10. T. Pages
11. C. Pages

Qualification Results
1. Nate Adams
2. Cameron Sinclair
3. Robbie Maddison
4. Adam Jones
5. Mat Rebeaud
6. Jeremy Stenberg
7. Dany Torres
8. Andre Villa
9. Thomas Pagès
10. Eigo Sato

Best Trick Results

1. Robbie Maddison
2. Cameron Sinclair
3. Thomas Pagès

Press Release by Global Newsroom plus some FORTY8 information.

back top